Library Databases

 
Mabee Library at MidAmerica Nazarene University

Mabee Library provides access to many research databases. You will be asked for your MNU email username and password.

Discovery - Most students will select databases from the list below, but you may also use "Discovery" to simultaneously search most of the library databases, including the library catalog, Credo Reference, EBSCOhost and others. This "quick search" approach can be used strategically: it is a good way to start your research, and it produces very broad search results. We recommend also searching databases in your subject area from the list below.

Jump to section:
General Research | Journal & Research Articles | Business | Counseling
Fine & Performing Arts | Language | Nursing & Science | Physical Education

General Research

CQ Researcher - An online research database of original research reports and analysis on issues in the news. These reports are noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Credo Reference - A virtual reference shelf encompassing all of the academic disciplines at MNU. It contains over 3.7 million articles from over 780 reference books.

Discovery  - Use "Discovery" to simultaneously search most of the library databases, including the library catalog, Credo Reference, EBSCOhost and others. This "quick search" approach can be used strategically: it is a good way to start your research, and it produces very broad search results.

EasyBib - An automatic bibliography composer, EasyBib helps you quickly and accurately format in-text and reference list citations in APA, MLA or other styles.

Ebrary Academic Complete - A collection of over 128,000 e-books representing all academic disciplines.

Encyclopedia Britannica - The famed encyclopedia in digital format, constantly updated and comprehensive. Includes the Encyclopædia BritannicaMerriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and other research tools.

WestlawNext - A comprehensive collection of news, business, and law information for students.

Journal & Research Articles

EBSCOhost - The library's most extensive collection of research databases, encompassing all academic disciplines. Search for scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Desired articles not in full-text format may be requested through interlibrary loan.

JSTOR - Search for journal articles in the JSTOR "Arts and Sciences IV" collection, which focuses on education, law, psychology, business and public policy and administration.

Web of Science - Despite its name, this database does not focus solely on the sciences; it also provides access to articles within the social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes the Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), with coverage from 1975-present.

Business

EBSCOhost - Select the "Business" database category (and, optionally, other categories such as "History, Government, & Law") to search for relevant scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Desired articles not in full-text format may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Kansas City Business Journal - Complete coverage of the weekly business journal, and unlimited access to the full site and the "Digital Book of Lists," containing the names and contact information for hundreds of ranked companies.

LexisNexis Academic - Full-text news content, including current coverage and deep archives, business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 63 million executives and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes and U.S. Supreme Court decisions.

ReferenceUSA - A company and residential information database to support business intelligence reference and research. May be used to identify competitors and similar businesses, using names, addresses, SIC code, employee size, sales volume, business expenditures and other search criteria. Businesses are geo-coded for mapping analysis.

Counseling

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works - Searchable collection of transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. It contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.

Counseling and Therapy in Video - More than 780 hours of training videos and reenactments, as well as footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by psychiatrists, psychologists and social workers. Videos provide insight into working with clients, translating theories into practice while using various therapeutic methods and diagnoses and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations.

EBSCOhost - Select the "Psychology, Sociology, & Counseling" database category (and, optionally, other categories) to search for relevant scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Desired articles not in full-text format may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Fine & Performing Arts

Music Online: Reference - Brings together the full content of four online music reference collections: African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. These reference materials for the study of music cover every time period, genre, cultural group and geographic region. Printable scores for over 50,000 works are included.

Naxos Music Library - The world´s largest online classical music library, offering streaming access to more than 120,000 CDs of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added every month. Contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label. Background resources include: audio book transriptions about the history of classical music and opera, with listening examples, libretti and synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, a glossary, an overview of important musical terms, work analyses and work details with instrumentation, publishers, duration and available recordings.

Oxford Music Online - Authoritative resource for music research, with over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars. It incorporating the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Articles from The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 vols., 2013) and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 vols., 2014) are being incorporated into the online database. Relevant web links and audio samples are also included.

Language

College English - A professional journal for the college scholar-teacher, with articles about literature, rhetoric-composition, critical theory, creative writing theory and pedagogy, linguistics, literacy, reading theory and professional issues related to the teaching of English.

EBSCOhost - Select the "Literature" database category (and, optionally, other categories) to search for relevant scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Desired articles not in full-text format may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Mango Languages - Courses in over 70 different languages (both basic and complete lessons). By creating an account, users may track progress and return to courses in progress. Includes ESL lessons.

Nursing & Science

EBSCOhost - Select the "Nursing & Health Sciences" database category to search for relevant scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Desired articles not in full-text format may be requested through interlibrary loan.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source - Practice reference material, including full-text, peer-reviewed nursing journal articles, books, dissertations, e-books, videos and study paths.

Web of Science - The Web of Science Core Collection, including Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, all with coverage from 1975-present.

Physical Education

Journal of Teaching in Physical Education - Features research articles based on classroom and laboratory studies, descriptive and survey studies and summary and review articles.

 

 

 

 

Live Chat

Please select the green arrow to open the library chat box in a new window.

Contact the Library

Address
Attn: Learning Commons
MidAmerica Nazarene University
2030 E. College Way
Olathe, KS 66062

Phone: 913.971.3485
Fax: 913.971.3285
Text to Chat: 913.440.4447
Email: library@mnu.edu
Follow Us on Facebook facebook
Follow Us on Twitter Twitter

Semester Hours
7 a.m. to 12 a.m., Monday through Thursday
7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Friday
12 p.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday
8 p.m. to 12 a.m. Sunday

Summer/Break Hours
8 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Monday through Thursday
8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Friday
12 p.m. to 5 p.m., Saturday
Closed Sundays

24/7 Computer lab & Study room is available.